How to divide the Qur'an into reading portions

Q 2: Is it permissible to divide the Qur’an into reading portions? I feel this is a kind of altering the Words of Allah (Exalted be He). This practice is common in some parts of western Arab countries. Again, is it permissible?

A: We do not know of any evidence authorizing dividing the Qur’an into the 60 Hizbs (portions) listed on the margins of Mus-hafs (copies of the Qur’an) that people have nowadays. The only report from the Sahabah (Companions of the Prophet) in this regard is that which is narrated on the authority of Aws ibn Hudhayfah who said: "I asked the Sahabah, 'How do you divide the Qur’an for daily recitation?' They said, 'We divide it into the following portions: three Surahs, five Surahs, seven Surahs, nine Surahs, eleven Surahs, thirteen Surahs, and then the portion of Mufassal (the last 65-70 chapters of the Qur'an). (Part No. 4; Page No. 31) The three Surahs are: Al-Baqarah, ‘Al-‘Imran, and Al-Nisa’. The five Surahs: Al-Ma’idah, Al-An‘am, Al-A‘raf, Al-Anfal, and Bara'ah (Al-Tawbah). The seven Surahs: Yunus, Hud, Yusuf, Al-Ra‘d, Ibrahim, Al-Hijr, and Al-Nahl. The nine Surahs: Al-Isra’, Al-Kahf, Maryam, Taha, Al-Anbiya’, Al-Hajj, Al-Mu’minun, Al-Nur, and Al-Furqan. The eleven Surahs: Al-Shu‘ara’, Al-Naml, Al-Qasas, Al-‘Ankabut, Al-Rum, Luqman, Al-Sajdah, Al-Ahzab, Saba’, Fatir, and Yasin. The thirteen Surahs: Al-Saffat, Sad, Al-Zumar, Ghafir, Fussilat, Al-Shura, Al-Zukhruf, Al-Dukhan, Al-Jathiyah, Al-Ahqaf, Al-Qital (Muhammad), Al-Fath, and Al-Hujurat. And the Surahs of Al-Mufassal starting with Surah Qaf [and ending with Surah Al-Nas].'" May Allah grant us success. May peace and blessings be upon our Prophet Muhammad, his family, and Companions.